Mourne Golf Club News



By Paul Gallagher

Last Friday saw the presentation of prizes and trophies for 2020 and 2021 at Mourne Golf Club, with previous presentation evenings postponed due to the pandemic.

Congratulations to all the winners over the last two seasons, with special mention to respective Golfer of the Year winners Sean O’Higgins (2020) and Michael McKenna (2021). McKenna also won the 2021 Sunday Order of Merit to round off an excellent season where his handicap tumbled to five.

The outgoing club Captain Mark Guinness and President Tom Fitzpatrick were on hand last Friday to present the prizes and trophies.

The 2022 season is almost upon us with the full fixture list published by officials in recent days. The Wallace Cup (strokeplay) will be played on Sunday, 27 March on the Annesley Links and this typically gets the Mourne season under way.

Mourne Golf Club has a new Twitter account @Mourne_GC where further club news and updates will be published.

(Pics courtesy of Danny Hillen)