Mourne Golf Club News

By Paul Gallagher


Mourne Golf Club celebrated one of its most successful Open Weeks in years as golfers from across the island of Ireland arrived in Newcastle to compete on both the Championship Links and Annesley Links at Royal County Down.

Open Week is a key date on the golfing calendar for Mourne and last week was another celebration of golf. Golfers competed in a range of singles and team formats with competitions for everyone in designated men’s, women’s, mixed and junior events.

Huge thanks to all the sponsors who continue to help make Open Week possible. There were some wonderful prizes on offer, and it took some excellent scoring to feature in the daily competitions.

Special thanks also to Royal County Down Golf Club, who continue to support Mourne and provide times all week for members and visitors.

There was a great buzz around the Mourne clubhouse where Dennis Orr and his team provided the catering, while Jacinta, Chris and the bar team were on hand to welcome members and visitors alike. Open Week also relies on the small army of volunteers who give up their time to man the competition office, act as starter on the first tee and the myriad of other tasks that take place behind the scenes.

And finally, thanks to Paul Mullan, Paul Doyle and the Match & Handicapping team who managed to co-ordinate and verify all the competitions during Open Week.

The week culminated in the sponsor and guests’ dinner and prizegiving last Friday where Club Captain Gareth Malley thanked everyone and helped present all the Open Week winners with their prizes.

(pics courtesy Danny Hillen)

Mourne Open Week Results 2023

Sunday May 7

Mourne Golf Club Classic (Sponsored by Motis)

94pts Michael O’Higgins, JP Hardy, Eugene Rooney, Paul Doherty

90pts (34 last 6) Michael Valentine, Paul Murray, Ryan McCaughan, Andrew Torrens

90pts (46 back 9) Kieran Polly, Eugene Jennings, John Hanna, Aaron McKeown

Junior Open Singles Stableford (Sponsored by Kevan Whitson)

46pts Ryan O’Higgins

41pts Thomas Burns

39pts Tiernan Smyth

Monday May 8

Men’s Open Singles Stableford (Sponsored by Mivan)

42pts Gary McGeown (Mayobridge GC)

40pts (22 back 9) Robert Girvan (Bangor GC)

40pts Adam Toth (Ballyneety GC)

39pts Ryan Brannigan (MGC)

38pts (21 back 9) Bertie McCammon (MGC)

38pts Brian O’Meara (Edenderry GC)

Best Gross 35pts Gareth Davidson (Lurgan GC)

Tuesday May 9

Men’s Open Fourball Stableford (Sponsored by Drumcastle Ltd)

48pts Stephen Dillon (Slievenamon), Peter Dillon (Portumna)

44pts (25 back 9) Eimhin Charlton (Corballis GC), William Hayes (Corballis GC)

44pts Niall McCabe (Temple GC), Adam Robinson (Malone GC)

42pts (23 back 9) James McIlmurray (MGC), Bertie McCammon (MGC)

Ladies Open Classic Stableford (Sponsored by Kevan Whitson)

81pts Esther Walsh (RCDLGC), Lorna Appleton (RCDLGC), Mary Stewart (RCDLGC)

80pts Heather Keenan (RCDLGC), Maria Doyle (RCDLGC), Jenny Bain (RCDLGC)

79pts Karen Mullan (RCDLGC), Elaine Heaney (RCDLGC), Rosin Johnston (RCDLGC)

Wednesday May 10

Open Mixed Foursomes Stableford (Sponsored by Smyths Centra & Colman R Hanna)

45pts Eugene Jennings (MGC), Clare Jennings (RCDLGC)

43pts (23 back 9) Paddy Curran (MGC), Amy Nicholson (RCDLGC)

43pts Paul Byrne (MGC), Christine Byrne (RCDLGC)

Thursday May 11

McKeown Cup (Sponsored by John Rodgers Building Supplies Ltd)

68 Matthew Malloy (Grange GC)

69 (32 back 9) Darragh Murphy (MGC)

69 Vincent Scully (Shannon GC)

70 (31 back 9) Fintan Canavan (MGC)

70 Paul McArdle (Kilkeel GC)

71 Robert Toner (Malone GC)

Best Gross 71 Mark Feenan (MGC)

Friday May 12

Men’s Open Fourball Stableford (Sponsored by Property Directions)

46pts (8 last 3) Niall McGovern (Thurles GC), Cathal Devlin (Royal Curragh GC)

46pts Marc Stevenson (MGC), Ian Blemmings (Edenmore GC)

45pts Eugene Cunningham (MGC), Ciaran Cunningham (MGC)

44pts Kris Stratton (MGC), Noel Duffy Mannon Castle)

Ladies’ Open Fourball Stableford (Sponsored by Property Directions)

47pts (22 back 9) Carol Wilson/Sheila Maginn (RCDLGC)

47pts Rose Murray/Christine Byrne (RCDLGC)